开源合规和管理

最近几年,由于开源软件可降低成本,提高灵活性,并且推动竞争优势,开源软件在全球范围内的应用显著增加。在 2015 年 2 月进行的一次高德纳调查中,99% 的响应机构报告说它们正在使用开源软件。

开源软件应用的增长更加加大了代码的复杂性,因此,确保使用经过批准且得到支持的代码,也比以往更为重要。然而,在同一个 2015 年 2 月的高德纳调查中,只有 1/3 的响应者拥有现成的政策来管理开源软件的使用和购买。

为何开源软件的管理和合规至关重要

缺乏有效的开源管理会致使机构暴露于由于未经适当许可的代码中包含已知安全漏洞而导致的法律和业务风险;包括各种缺陷,可能需要花费大量成本和时间来修复,否则无法满足公司的政策要求。

为了避免这些风险,各组织机构必须基于最佳实践制定各种政策和程序,确立管理计划,执行这些政策,然后将开源组件使用管理自动化。

一个全面的开源管理与合规方法

领先的组织机构在开发生命周期流程中每个阶段都会拥有高效的开源管理政策:

选择

选择最好的、最安全的开源代码用于您的需求,这一点至关重要;但是,如果要从超过 100 万个开源项目中进行选择,这就有点困难,并且比较费时。

在这方面,基于Black Duck KnowledgeBase™而建立的 Black Duck®  Protex™和Code Center™可轻松为您排忧解难。

此知识库为全球最全面的开源项目信息数据库,并且通过不断追踪以下资源持续从大量开源生态系统中收集各种数据:

  • 超过 100 万个项目
  • 来自 7,500 个网站
  • 超过 2,300 个独一无二的软件许可

结合该知识库,Black Duck Open Hub 可提供超过 660,000 个项目的详细信息和具体分析。作为查找和评估开源代码的资源之一,Open Hub 在超过 500,000 开源代码开发人员和每天都在使用开源代码的数以百万计的机构之间保持着至关重要的联系。

识别您的代码库中到底有哪些开源代码,对于开源代码的管理、优化、使用和再利用来说,至关重要。同样重要的是,确保与代码许可证以及公司政策要求的许可合规,这是在降低业务风险过程中非常重要的一步。

无论您是希望努力按时按预算完成您的软件项目,评估潜在的收购交易或资产剥离,审查供应链的工作,还是满足内部开源许可合规要求,使用自动化方法扫描您的开源代码都是一个最佳的方式,其可:

  • 识别并了解代码来源
  • 识别各个许可证并确保许可合规,以降低业务风险
  • 消除耗时巨大且不完全的手动工作
  • 提高对使用中的开源代码及其位置的可见性以及控制。

Black Duck® Protex™可集成现有的开发工具,自动扫描您的开源代码,并且识别软件来源,以降低业务风险。快速扫描功能可为开发人员提供您代码库的高水平快照,并且,相比行业开源代码扫描标准,可节省多达 80% 的时间。

此外,我们的黑鸭按需定制审计服务可提供快速、低本高效的方法,以识别开源代码,并且评估您机构中的开源代码质量,让您能够作出战略性的业务决策。通过扫描您的开源代码,我们能够帮助您确保实施适当的合规要求。

批准

通过自动化审批流程,开发人员可立即了解哪些代码已经过批准使用和再利用,从而帮助他们以更快速度开发更高质量的软件,并且帮助避免潜在的法律、运营和安全风险。

简化的审批流程可提高速度和可靠性,同时减少障碍和瓶颈。在Black Duck® Code Center™ 的帮助下,您将可以:

  • 消除不确定性并提高再利用率
  • 加快软件组件的识别
  • 缓解风险,同时不会导致开发速度减慢
  • 无缝协作

清单目录

了解您的机构中正在使用和批准了哪些代码非常重要,但是,这还远远不够。为了确保您的开发人员可以编写最具创意、安全性的代码,同时加快上市时间,您需要一个智能的代码目录。一个可以自动更新、创建并且和全球最全面的开源项目信息数据库整合的代码目录,并且会随着您的开发人员的使用而变得更加智能化。

Black Duck® Protex™ 拥有 Rapid ID™ 功能,其可自动发现并识别您代码库中的开源代码。通过使用多种分析技术,Rapid ID 可自动发现开源代码;并且,其“已知匹配”能力可快速并轻易捕获您的内部专业知识,让您的目录更智能,并且让您的开发人员工作更轻松。

Black Duck® Code Center™ 可将主要管理流程自动化,让您搜索并选择开源代码、目录组件,以进行再利用和标准化处理,并且在组件可用性和合意性方面获得无以伦比的可见性。通过这些流程的自动化,您的组织机构可进行无缝协作,同时管理好软件开发政策。

交付

黑鸭的方法可帮助您在整个供应链到终端用户之间交付您的产品和代码时保持满满的自信。具体措施我们可提供一份许可义务报告,包括一份易消耗的材料清单(BOM),以供您交付给您的客户及/或内部利益相关方。

文件和分享

黑鸭对 Software Package Data Exchange® (SPDX) 标准的支持可促进许可信息的开放交流,并简化供应链协作。SPDX 标准可进行关于软件包的开源内容、许可和版权等信息的通讯,这是至关重要的方面,可确保开发机构更轻松履行软件许可义务。

Open Source Compliance & Governance

Use of open source software, and the need for open source compliance, has increased dramatically in recent years as open source reduces costs, increases agility, and drives competitive advantage. In a February 2015 Gartner survey, 99 percent of responding organizations reported using open source.

The growth in open source usage adds code complexity, making it more important than ever to ensure the use of approved and supported code. However, in the same February 2015 Gartner survey, only one third of respondents had a policy to govern open source compliance, use and purchases.

Open Source Compliance & Governance Is Critical

The lack of effective open source compliance and governance expose organizations to legal and business risks through code that contains known security vulnerabilities; is not properly licensed; includes bugs that are costly and time-consuming to fix or does not comply with corporate policies.

To avoid these risks, organizations must develop policies and procedures based on software licensing best practices, establish open source compliance programs to enforce these policies, and automate the open source governance.

A Comprehensive Approach to Open Source License Management

Leading organizations have effective open source software license compliance policies in place at each phase of the development lifecycle process:  

Choose

Selecting the best, most secure code for your needs is essential, but with more than a million open source projects to choose from, that's not fast or easy.

Black Duck® Protex™ and Code Center™, built on the Black Duck KnowledgeBase™, can help.
The KnowledgeBase is the world's most comprehensive database of open source project information, continually gathering data from the vast ecosystem by tracking:

  • Over one million projects
  • From 7,500 sites
  • And over 2,300 unique software licenses

In conjunction with the KnowledgeBase, Black Duck Open Hub provides insight into and analysis of more than 660,000 projects. As a resource for finding and evaluating open source code, the Open Hub provides a critical link between more than 500,000 developers and the millions of organizations who utilize open source each day.

Open Source Code Scanning

Identifying exactly what open source code is in your codebase is crucial for properly managing – and optimizing – its use and reuse. It's also key to ensuring open source software license compliance with code licenses and corporate policy requirements, an essential step in reducing business risk.

Whether you're focused on completing your software projects on time and on budget, evaluating potential acquisitions or divestitures, reviewing supply chain commitments, or meeting internal open source licensing compliance requirements, using an automated method for scanning your code is the best way to:

  • Identify and understand code origin
  • Identify licenses and ensure software license compliance to reduce business risk
  • Eliminate time-consuming and incomplete manual efforts
  • Increase visibility into and control over the open source code in use and where it is located.

Black Duck® Protex™ integrates with existing development tools to automatically scan your code and identify software origins to reduce business risks. The Express Scan feature provides developers with a high-level snapshot of your codebase in 80 percent less time than industry norms for open source code scanning.

Additionally, our Black Duck On Demand Audit services provide a quick, cost-effective way to identify open source, and assess code quality within your organization so you can make strategic business decisions. By scanning your open source, we can help you ensure appropriate compliance requirements are in place.

Approve

With an automated approval process, developers immediately know what code is approved for use and reuse, helping them produce high-quality software fast, and helping to avoid potential legal, operational, and security risks.

A streamlined approval process improves speed and accountability, while reducing road blocks and bottle necks. With Black Duck® Code Center™ you can:

  • Eliminate uncertainty and promote reuse
  • Speed identification of software components
  • Mitigate risk without slowing development
  • Collaborate seamlessly

Inventory

Knowing what code is used and approved in your organization is important, but it's not enough. To enable your developers to write the most innovative, secure code, while also speeding time-to-market, you need an intelligent code catalog. One that is automatically updated, built, and integrated with the world's most comprehensive database of open source project information, and actually gets smarter as your developers use it.

Black Duck® Protex™ features Rapid ID™, which automates the discovery and identification of open source in your codebase. Using multiple analysis techniques, Rapid ID automatically finds open source code, and its "learned matching" capability quickly and easily captures your internal expertise to make your catalog smarter and your developers' jobs easier.

Black Duck® Code Center™ automates key open source compliance and governance processes, enabling you to search for and select open source code, catalog components for reuse and standardization, and gain unprecedented visibility into component availability and desirability. By automating these processes, your organization can seamlessly collaborate while managing software development policies.

Deliver

The Black Duck approach to open source compliance and governance helps you be confident in the products and code you deliver throughout the supply chain and to end users. How? We provide a license obligation report, including an easily consumable bill of materials (BOM) that you can deliver to your customers and/or internal stakeholders.

Document and Share

Black Duck’s support of the Software Package Data Exchange® (SPDX) standard facilitates the open exchange of license information and streamlines supply chain collaboration. The SPDX standard, which communicates open source licenses, content, and copyrights associated with software packages, is vitally important to enabling development organizations to comply more easily with software license compliance obligations.