跳转到主要内容

2018 Open Source
Rookies of the Year

在过去十年间,Black Duck by Synopsys 认可了每年发布的一些最具创新力和影响力的开源项目。这一认可是对这些项目的成功和发展势头的致敬,也是对项目前景的肯定。我们已经看到,Kubernetes (2014)、Docker (2013)、Ansible (2012)、Bootstrap (2011)、NuGet (2011) 和 OpenStack (2010) 等受誉者已发展成为市面上最具影响力的开源项目。据我们预计,今年的新秀也不会例外。

2018 年度开源新秀涵盖各种各样的功能和技术,从自主驾驶、可扩展区块链和 VNF 编排,到个人安全和关系管理,所涉领域无所不包。


开放网络自动化平台 (ONAP)

全球蜂窝网络是创新的焦点,因为用户需要日益复杂的资源密集型技术。软件定义的网络 (SDN) 和虚拟网络功能 (VNF) 为现代运营商奠定了性能基础,随着 5G 即将到来,面向快速自动化 VNF 编排的开放式解决方案对业界实现下一次飞跃至关重要。

AT&T 携手 Linux 基金会打造了现在的开放网络自动化平台 (ONAP),这是以前的开源项目(OPEN-O、OpenDaylight、OPNFV、OpenStack)的产物,蕴含着华为和中国移动等各大运营商共同努力的结晶。ONAP 以这些项目为基础,通过自动进行流量管理和资源分配,实现了现有运营商网络的虚拟化。在运营商成员(其订户占全球市场的 60%)的支持之下,ONAP 已迅速崛起,成为最杰出的开源 VNF 编排平台。

在 Linux 基金会网络部门主持酝酿一年之后,现在 ONAP 已蓄势待发,准备在来年实施一些关键性的改进,包括集成容器以提高 VNF 部署灵活性、提升运营商成员资格、为自主车辆和虚拟现实提供服务支持,以及在五月底进行第二次发布。

欲了解更多信息,请访问www.onap.org,或查看 3 月 26 日至 29 日举行的开放网络峰会新闻。

 

RChain

暂且将加密货币枯竭的烦恼抛之脑后吧,思考一下区块链技术对于生成安全、可信的数据记录的意义,以及它们在遏制伪造交易和数据操纵方面发挥的作用。RChain 合作社更进一步,寻求建立一种可扩展、可持续的安全区块链的可能性。他们想据此实现一种分散、不可变的全球计算基础设施。

在 RChain 平台中,可以通过在固有的并发 Rho 虚拟机上运行智能合同,以并发、并行的方式执行智能合同。RChain 独特的分片架构基于命名空间框架,能有效地为每个节点建立多个区块链,每个区块链独立运行。这样 RChain 就能提供企业级可扩展性和前所未有的事务吞吐量。它所秉持的理念是:通过使用区块链来存储真正并发的虚拟机的状态,构建不被恶意对手攻陷的高性能计算基础设施。

RChain 合作社与 Ethereum 社区密切合作,采用 Casper 权益证明协议和建构校正 (correct by construction) 设计理念,这种理念与当今最流行的区块链所采用的资源密集型工作量证明方法背道而行。RChain 的这些显著特征彰显了合作社的一些核心价值观,即减少能源消耗和资源依赖,为孩子们打造一个可持续、协调发展的世界。他们努力的结果已开始显现,合作社正在积极朝着亚秒级块延迟、每秒处理 4 万多笔交易的目标奋进。

欲了解更多信息,请访问 developer.rchain.coop,并了解 4 月 17 至 18 日在科罗拉多博尔德举行的 RChain 开发者交流会的信息。

 

Monica

当今的社会生态系统纷繁复杂。随着友谊日渐分散,工作关系日益延伸,再加上为了让人们保持“联系”而设计的各种技术,令我们的记忆在一片嘈杂中无法保持清醒。那些罹患损害社会认知能力的身心疾病的人,对于这种复杂状况更是不堪忍受。

Monica 自称个人关系管理系统,其宗旨是通过易于使用的技术来对关系进行分类和强化。Monica 将经典 Rolodex 的灵活性与现代社交网络的动态多功能性融为一体。为发展技术和获取战略,它将目光瞄准开源社区。Monica 项目于 2017 年 6 月提供开源,并在一个主流社区网站上推广,短短 2 天内,就吸引了超过 600 条评论和 1100 次点赞。Monica 也引起了全球关注,一周之内就有 7000 多人注册和 100 个拉取请求。

Monica 的用户群证明了其真诚的意图和透明的操作,从社交名流、家长、子女到囚犯,从阿尔茨海默氏症和痴呆症患者,到正在进行创伤性脑损伤恢复的患者,以及患有自闭症谱系障碍的患者,无不从中受益。时至今日,Monica 项目 Asperger 子版块的参与度最高,该版块对这个项目褒奖有加,并积极提供有关功能增强的反馈和指导,让社区受益匪浅。现在 Monica 正着眼于推进社区采用和深化整合,强化这些不同社区和伙伴关系对实现这一远大目标的作用。

欲知更多信息,请访问www.monicahq.com

 

 

Apollo 汽车

在过去的一年中,各大汽车制造商争相宣布,希望率先推出安全可靠的自主汽车。大众、沃尔沃、宝马、奥迪、特斯拉、优步、谷歌,甚至连亚马逊都在凭借自主创新和独家合作开疆扩土。这种方法带来一个缺点:实现自主驾驶的方法五花八门、混乱不堪。

百度正在寻求通过开放的自主驾驶平台和灵活架构——Apollo,来为创新扫清道路。2017 年 7 月,Apollo 发布了第一个版本,支持一级供应商、原始设备制造商和初创公司打造自己的自主车辆,而无需“一切从头做起”。通过利用 Apollo 合作伙伴的集体专业知识和 Apollo 独特的模拟引擎——其中包含数以万计的自主驾驶场景 (ADS) 和经过严格测试的自主驾驶算法,组织可以加快开发进程。现在,各组织可以在车辆上路前验证其算法是否符合基本回归规则,消除了从头开始推导测试数据的负担。

Apollo 1.0 版有 50 个合作伙伴,在一月发布 2.0 版后,已有了 90 多个合作伙伴。现在 Apollo 正在努力将其集成范围扩展到其他硬件平台,以适应各种各样的传感器、计算和建模技术。Apollo 的最新版本涵盖的功能包括提高在城市道路上的性能、多传感器支持、障碍感知、交通灯检测和增强的安全功能。迈入 2018 年后,Apollo 团队专注于产品化需求,将创新扩展到更多业务组合,同时秉持其核心原则之一:自主驾驶数据属于全人类,而不仅仅属于这一家公司,而且我们贡献得越多,从这个项目中受益也越多。

欲了解更多信息,请访问apollo.auto

 

 

Haven

数字安全市场成熟完善。保护传输中和静止状态下的敏感数据,监控网络流量中有无异常或恶意活动,以及保护终端设备,所有这些领域里可满足您一切数字安全需求的定制解决方案层出不穷。但在使用技术来保护终端设备周围的人和环境方面,仍然存在巨大差距,对于记者、人权捍卫者、官员,以及穿梭于世界各地并因为某些大事件而影响人身安全的平民而言,后果可能非常严重。

2017 年,Guardian Project 开始携手新闻自由基金会(Freedom of the Press Foundation,FPF)从事 Haven 项目,意欲确定关键特性和功能,共同设计出一款解决方案。项目的目标是:打造一款个人物理安全应用程序,来传输移动设备周围环境的情境感知。Haven 采用安全通信技术(例如 Signal 和 Tor)和基于 Android 的终端设备中业已存在的成熟硬件,来提供关键洞察并实施战略行动,保护受监控的人员或资产。

Haven 依赖于 SecureIt 开源码项目的克隆版本来进行运动检测,增加了一个安全数据库结构,并在代码层上使用传感器硬件。2018 年,Haven 团队锐意进取,专注于增强解决方案,使用加密的端对端消息传送和 Guardian 项目的 CameraV 进行证据级照片和视频采集。该团队希望利用机器学习来减少误报,扩展对附加外设传感器的支持,并通过 Tor 网络实现多个 Haven 设备的同步。

欲了解更多信息或合作机会,请访问guardianproject.github.io/haven

 

Prettier

在软件开发中,对工作主体的每一项贡献都有其创始人的特点,因而赋予了构成应用程序或组件的代码独特个性。这可能是开发团队需要克服的障碍,因为风格不一致会导致代码审查变得困难,也会导致代价高昂的风格分歧。同样,开发工具之间变化不一的功能,意味着合作和生产力受制于工具本身的限制。这些障碍延缓了工作进展,引起工作组之间 失和。

Prettier 是一种自述为坚持已见的代码格式化工具,其目标是通过对代码的表示形式进行标准化处理(不论其初始构建方式如何)而不影响其执行,来终结开发小组之间的冲突,并解决 IDE 格式化问题。这样一来,开发人员就可以按自己的风格进行编码,同时生成可转移的输出,以提高互操作性和协作性。就像 Prettier 在 GitHub 上的巨大影响力(22000 多颗星,近 1000 项克隆,300 名贡献者)已证明的那样,这是一款深受诸多开发人员欢迎的解决方案 - 至少对那些使用 JavaScript 和 Python 等语言的开发人员是如此。

该款解决方案在社区中被广为接受,部分原因可归结为项目的零配置性质和明确定义的目标。在经过一年由社区驱动的发展后,JavaScript 语言已完全满足要求,Prettier 正在着眼于新的语言,如 Java、PHP、Ruby、Swift 和 PostgreSQL,项目领导者则鼓励社区:“继续开发更多插件“。

欲了解更多信息,请访问 prettier.io

 

 

Common Voice

在过去的几十年间,世界发生了翻天覆地的变化 - 从命令行界面到图形界面,再到触摸屏。全球公民日常语言模式的下一场革命呼之欲出。但语言和方言跟指纹一样是个体化的,而技术必须学会破译人类言语的微妙背景、含义和复杂结构。

2017 年 6 月,Mozilla 的开放创新 (Open Innovation) 团队启动了 Common Voice 项目,目标是建立世界上规模最大的开放式人类语音数据集合,为初创企业、创新者和研究型大学提供可靠的数据集,供其为语音技术训练机器学习模型。目前,Common Voice 被用于训练百度 DeepSpeech 架构的 Mozilla TensorFlow 实现,以及训练 Kaldi(语音识别工具包,是 Siri 开发的核心)。该项目的目标是为尽可能多的语种收集多达 10000 小时的语音。

Common Voice 已呈现出加速增长的可喜势头,得到了热心的声音贡献者的支持,并与 Mycroft、Snips、Dat Project 和威尔士班戈大学进行技术合作。如今 Common Voice 已成为第二大开放式语音数据集,从 112 个国家收集了超过 500 小时的英语语音数据。换个方式来说,TED 会谈的公开收录大约有 200 个小时,而 LibriSpeech 本质上是公共领域的书籍录音 (Books on Tape),约有 1000 小时。

该平台经社区调整,也可以收集马其顿语和威尔士语,社区的网站已经在进行 17 种新语言的翻译,人们在今年晚些时候就可以贡献自己的声音了。

欲了解更多信息和贡献您宝贵的语音样本,请前往voice.mozilla.org

Skip to main content

2018 Open Source
Rookies of the Year

Over the last decade, Black Duck by Synopsys has recognized some of the most innovative and influential open source projects launched each year. This recognition is a tribute to the success and momentum of these projects, and affirmation of their prospects going forward. We’ve seen honorees like Kubernetes (2014), Docker (2013), Ansible (2012), Bootstrap (2011), NuGet (2011), and OpenStack (2010) evolve to become some of the most influential open source projects in the market. We expect this year’s rookies to be no exception. 

Spanning an array of functions and technologies, the 2018 Open Source Rookies of the Year invest their efforts in everything from autonomous driving, scalable blockchain, and VNF orchestration to personal security and relationship management. 


Open Network Automation Platform (ONAP)

The world’s cellular networks are the focus of innovation as users require increasingly complex and resource-intensive technologies. Software-defined networks (SDNs) and virtual network functions (VNFs) have laid the foundation for modern carrier performance, and with 5G on the horizon, an open solution for rapid and automated VNF orchestration is critical to the industry’s next great leap. 

AT&T approached the Linux Foundation to create what is now the Open Network Automation Platform (ONAP), an outgrowth of previous open source projects (OPEN-O, OpenDaylight, OPNFV, OpenStack), representing the aggregate of efforts from major carrier players like Huawei and China Mobile. ONAP builds on these projects to enable the virtualization of existing carrier networks by automating traffic management and resource allocation. Supported by carrier members, whose subscribers represent 60% of the worldwide market, ONAP has quickly risen to be the most prominent open source VNF orchestration platform. 

Now, with a year behind it and the Linux Foundation’s networking division at the wheel, ONAP is poised to tackle some key advancements in the coming year, including container integration for increased VNF deployment flexibility, increased carrier membership, services support for autonomous vehicles and virtual reality, and their second release at the end of May. 

For more information, visit www.onap.org, or check out news from the Open Networking Summit, March 26–29. 

 

RChain

Put aside your cryptocurrency exhaustion for a moment, and think about what blockchain technologies mean for generating secure, authentic data records, and the role they play in quelling the creation of counterfeit transactions and data manipulation. The RChain co-op takes it a step further, seeking to establish the possibility of building a scalable, secure, and sustainable blockchain. With it, they intend to implement a decentralized, immutable, and global compute infrastructure. 

The RChain platform allows concurrent, parallel execution of smart contracts by running them on the inherently concurrent Rho Virtual Machine. RChain’s unique sharding architecture—based on a framework of namespaces—effectively establishes multiple blockchains per node, each running independently. This enables RChain to deliver enterprise-class scalability and unprecedented transactional throughput. The idea here: By using a blockchain to store the state of a truly concurrent virtual machine, you can build a high-performance compute infrastructure that can’t be taken down by malicious adversaries. 

Working closely with the Ethereum community, the RChain co-op uses the Casper proof-of-stake protocol and correct-by-construction design—a fundamental departure from the resource-intensive proof-of-work approach employed by the most popular blockchains today. These distinguishing characteristics of RChain reflect some of the co-op’s core values of reducing energy consumption and resource dependence to present children with a sustainable and well-coordinated world. The results of their efforts are beginning to materialize, and the co-op is aggressively targeting subsecond block latency, with 40,000+ transactions per second. 

For more information, visit developer.rchain.coop, and check out the RChain Developer’s Retreat in Boulder, Colorado, April 17–18. 

 

Monica

Today’s social ecosystem is a complex one. With increasingly distributed friendships, extended work affiliations, and a diverse array of technologies designed to keep us “connected,” there is a burden on our memories to sustain order among chaos. For those with physical and mental conditions that impair social cognition, these complexities can be significant. 

Monica is a self-proclaimed personal relationship management system that seeks to catalog and strengthen relationships through easy-to-use technologies. Monica combines the flexibility of a classic Rolodex with the dynamic versatility of modern social networks and turns to the open source community both to evolve the technology and to derive the strategy. Open sourced in June 2017 and promoted on a popular community site, the Monica project drew more than 600 comments and 1,100 upvotes in 2 days. Garnering attention worldwide, Monica saw more than 7,000 registrants and 100 pull requests within a week. 

Monica’s user base is a testament to its sincere intentions and transparent operations, which benefit everyone from socialites, parents, and children to prisoners, Alzheimer’s and dementia patients, those recovering from traumatic brain injuries, and those with autism spectrum disorders. To date, the Monica project has seen some of its greatest participation stem from the Asperger’s subreddit, which has lauded the project and actively provided feedback and direction on feature enhancements to benefit the community. Now Monica is setting its sights on broader community adoption and deeper integrations, emphasizing the role of these various communities and partnerships to accomplish this ambitious goal. 

For more information, visit www.monicahq.com

 

 

Apollo Auto

Over the last year, major vehicle manufacturers have been clamoring to be among the first to market with a safe and reliable autonomous vehicle. Volkswagen, Volvo, BMW, Audi, Tesla, Uber, Google, and even Amazon are pushing boundaries with proprietary innovation and exclusive partnerships. This approach has one drawback: a cluttered arena of distinct approaches to autonomous driving. 

Baidu is seeking to clear a path for innovation with Apollo, an open autonomous driving platform and flexible architecture. With its first version launched in July 2017, Apollo enables Tier 1 providers, OEMs, and startups to build their own autonomous vehicles without the burden of “reinventing the wheel.” Organizations can accelerate development by drawing on the collective expertise of Apollo partners and Apollo’s unique simulation engine, which contains tens of thousands of autonomous driving scenarios (ADSs), to rigorously test autonomous driving algorithms. Now organizations can verify that their algorithms meet basic regression rules before they get to the road, without the burden of deriving the test data from scratch. 

With 50 partners for its 1.0 release, and more than 90 after its 2.0 release in January, Apollo is working fervently to extend its integration to additional hardware platforms to accommodate a wide variety of sensor, compute, and modeling technologies. Apollo’s latest release includes functions to improve performance on urban roads, multisensor support, obstacle perception, traffic light detection, and enhanced security features. Moving into 2018, the Apollo team is focusing on productization requirements to extend innovation to a greater portfolio of businesses, while upholding one of its core tenets: Autonomous driving data belongs to humankind, not solely to the company, and the more we all contribute, the more we will benefit from this project. 

For more information, visit apollo.auto

 

 

Haven

There is a well-established market for digital security. Safeguarding sensitive data in transit and at rest, monitoring network traffic for anomalous or malicious activity, and securing endpoint devices are all areas rife with custom solutions to meet whatever your digital security needs may be. But there remains a dire gap in the use of technology to protect the people and the environment surrounding an endpoint device, and the consequences can be severe for journalists, human rights defenders, officials, and civilians traveling the world and yielding their personal security for something greater. 

In 2017, the Guardian Project began work on Haven, in collaboration with the Freedom of the Press Foundation (FPF), to identify key features and functions and to co-design a solution. The goal: to create a personal physical security application to transmit situational awareness of the environment surrounding a mobile device. Haven uses secure communications technologies, like Signal and Tor, and the sophisticated hardware already present in Android-based endpoint devices to deliver critical insight and enable strategic action to protect the people or assets being monitored. 

Haven relies on a forked version of the SecureIt open source project for motion detection, adds a secure database structure, and layers on code to use sensor hardware. In 2018, the Haven team is keenly focused on enhancing the solution to use encrypted end-to-end messaging and the Guardian Project’s CameraV for evidence-grade photo and video capture. The team hopes to use machine learning to reduce false positives, extend support to additional peripheral sensors, and enable syncing of multiple Haven-enabled devices over a Tor network. 

For more information or for partnership opportunities, visit guardianproject.github.io/haven

 

Prettier

In software development, each contribution to a body of work has the hallmark of its originator, giving a unique personality to the code that composes an application or component. This can be a hurdle for development teams to overcome, with style inconsistencies making code review difficult and leading to costly disagreements over style. Similarly, varied functionality among development tools means that cooperation and productivity are governed by the limits of the tools themselves. These impediments slow progress and drive a wedge between workgroups. 

Prettier is a self-described opinionated code formatter with the goal of ending conflict among development groups and resolving IDE formatting woes by standardizing the representation of code regardless of how it is originally constructed, without affecting its execution. This allows developers to code in their own styles while generating a transferrable output for greater interoperability and collaboration. As evidenced by Prettier’s substantial presence on GitHub (22,000+ stars, nearly 1,000 forks, and 300 contributors), it’s a solution many developers welcome—at least those who use languages like JavaScript and Python. 

Part of the immense uptake among the community can be attributed to the zero-config nature of the project and its clearly defined goals. With a year of community-driven evolution under its belt and the JavaScript language thoroughly satisfied, Prettier is eying new languages, like Java, PHP, Ruby, Swift, and PostgreSQL, and project leaders offer encouraging words to the community: “Go forth and do plugins.” 

For more information, visit prettier.io

 

 

Common Voice

The world has changed remarkably over the last few decades—from command line interfaces, to graphical interfaces, to touch screens. The next great horizon can be seen—or heard—in the daily speech patterns of citizens around the globe. But language and dialect are as individual as a fingerprint, and technology must learn to decipher the subtle context, implications, and complex structures of human speech. 

In June 2017, Mozilla’s Open Innovation team launched Common Voice with the goal of establishing the world’s largest open collection of human voice data to provide startups, innovators, and research universities with reliable datasets with which to train machine learning models for speech technologies. Currently, Common Voice is used to train Mozilla’s TensorFlow implementation of Baidu’s DeepSpeech architecture, as well as Kaldi (the speech recognition toolkit that was core to the development of Siri). The project’s goal is to collect up to 10,000 hours of speech for as many distinct languages as possible. 

Common Voice has seen remarkable accelerated growth, supported by eager, vocal contributors and technology collaborations, such as with Mycroft, Snips, Dat Project, and Bangor University in Wales. Today, Common Voice represents the second-largest open speech dataset, with more than 500 hours of English voice data collected from 112 countries. To put that in perspective, the public collection of TED talks constitutes about 200 hours, while LibriSpeech, which is essentially public domain Books on Tape, represents about 1,000 hours. 

The platform has also been adapted by communities to collect Macedonian and Welsh, with community translations of the site already underway for 17 new languages, to be enabled for people to contribute their voices later this year. 

To learn more and to contribute your valuable speech sample, go to voice.mozilla.org